Encyclopedias: gotta love ‘em!

Science Fiction: the Illustrated Encyclopedia by John Clute. I recently found this at a used book shop and had to have it (along with a stack of other books, of course!). I’ve been browsing through it for the last few days, in between my other readings, and I love it. There’s so much info in here about the history of the genre, how it developed decade by decade, its major themes, its major authors, and so on. This will be a great addition to my SF library, and a frequent source of pleasure, I’m sure.

2 responses to “Encyclopedias: gotta love ‘em!

  1. I would love to lay my mitts on a cheap copy of that one as well. I met Mr. Clute at a convention a number of years back–very pleasant, erudite man, the antithesis of what you expect a critic to be. No apparent problems with social skills or inability to chew and blink at the same time.

  2. I love this book too. Literally, I look at it every week. I was going through it recently and realized that there were a bunch of books that I had not read from his section where he details the best books of every decade since the 20′s or so, so I used it to redo my want list from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

