What was your introduction to sci-fi?

I certainly hope it was more elegant and, umm… cleaner than in this story Nancy Kress shares about one of her fans. Of course, if the young lady had to go through that to get some good science fiction, at least she was lucky enough to find such a superb novel. One could hardly do better than starting off with Beggars in Spain as one’s first sci-fi reading experience. Kress says she herself started with Arthur C. Clarke’s Childhood’s End.

My memory is a bit shaky going that far back, but I think the first sci-fi book I ever read was Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. That would have been in grade school, I’m sure, because I have a clear memory of the book being in the grade school library. I just don’t recall what year it was, exactly. Most likely I was around 9 or 10 years old.

It’s possible I read some other juvenile-type sci-fi around that time that has completely escaped my memory. The next thing I remember is reading whatever fantasy was in the school library, which wasn’t that much: The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, and Quag Keep by Andre Norton. Those were around age 11-12.

I think I was 14 when I was looking through a box of old books my parents had picked up at a yard sale. In it I found a hardcover book missing its dust jacket, called A Time of Changes, by some fellow named Robert Silverberg whom I’d never heard of before. I didn’t even have any idea it was science fiction. Out of idle curiosity, I opened to the first page for a brief scan to see if there was anything interesting. And there was. I was drawn in by the fantastic narrative hook, and before I knew it I was finished reading what was to become one of my favorite novels ever. At age 15 I happened upon another “favorite novel ever” — Frank Herbert’s masterpiece Dune. By that time, I was thoroughly hooked and and my sci-fi readings became more frequent.

So there you have it, some of my foundational SF experiences. All in the usual manner, I might add…. nothing strange, no stickiness involved, nothing like that. Just me and some great books.

So what’s your story?

3 responses to “What was your introduction to sci-fi?

  1. I read a lot of Stephen King’s early works, and I think that they may have been the first non-juvenile, non-YA books that I read. But the first real genre book that I ever read was Larry Niven’s Ringworld. I was totally blown away by the book, and for a long time I was dedicated to nothing but hard-SF.

    Of course, this story changes every time I tell it, because, well, I’m senile. So who knows for sure?

  2. crotchetyoldfan

    Classics by Wells, The Runaway Robot by Del Rey, a Silverberg from Scholastic books (who’s title escapes me) and Heinlein’s Starman Jones.

    After those books, there was no turning back

  3. The first science fiction I read was Bruce Coville’s “My Teacher is an Alien” series, and later “Aliens Ate My Homework” Pretty silly in retrospect, but doesn’t every kid have a teacher that seems like an alien?

Leave a Reply

