Short clip: Frank Herbert speaks about Dune

Here’s a very short video I found of a television interview with Frank Herbert, the only such video I’ve been able to find. I don’t know the date on this, but I’d guess it’s from sometime in the late 70’s or early 80’s. I wish I could find the whole interview, assuming there was more to it — this is only about a minute and a half long. Nothing new here for Dune fans, but as I’ve said before, it’s just nice sometimes to be able to hear your favorite authors in their own words and voice.

I’ve been thinking lately about Herbert’s thoughts on power. He said he thought the old adage “power corrupts” isn’t quite right, and put forth his own version: “power attracts the corruptible.” What I think is that BOTH statements are correct. No doubt many people are drawn to positions of authority because deep down, whether they consciously recognize it or not, they desire power and the perks that come with it, whether that’s wealth or the ability to impose their will on others. On the other hand, I believe there are people who go into politics or other positions of responsibility with the noblest of intentions, truly desiring to do good; but as time passes, the temptations of power slowly erode their defenses and wear them down, corrupting them to varying degrees.

(Hmmm…… most pictures I’ve seen of Frank show him with a beard. He looks pretty different in this clip.)

4 responses to “Short clip: Frank Herbert speaks about Dune

  1. That was interesting. Thanks for sharing.

    Dune is one of my favorite series. The new stuff is okay in places but never quite sustains.

  2. You have a far more charitable view of the “new stuff” than I do. Blasphemy, every last word of it.

  3. “Hell-spawned vomitus,” is a kinder thing then I would say.

  4. Pingback: Matt’s Bookosphere 8/25/08 « Enter the Octopus

Leave a Reply

