Book stuff

I’ve seen several interesting posts lately on various topics involving books and reading, so I thought I’d share.

Bill Ward has a couple of articles (at his own blog and at Black Gate) on the subject of speed-reading, with special reference to a columnist/reviewer who ripped through a whopping 462 books last year. (And I thought I was doing well…. sheesh!) Also of interest is Bill’s post on keeping book lists.

**********

Wanna win some free books? Well you’re in luck. The Old Bat’s Belfry tracks down all the SF/F book giveaways going on and lists them for your convenience. So check there frequently, go enter those contests, and good luck!

**********

Shannon (at Books Worth Reading) posts on the books that have appeared throughout the tv show Lost. It’s an eye-opening list, actually. I’ve been a fan of the show since the first episode, and of course I’ve seen the various characters reading books from time to time. But somehow, I never paid all that much attention to exactly what they were reading. And it turns out there have been a lot more books involved than I ever noticed (see Shannon’s list). Looks like a half dozen or so science fiction and fantasy titles, and just a wild mix of other stuff. Any Lost fans reading this, go take a look.

Leave a Reply

